Taxonomy Article

Rhampholeon Species List

by Lynn R. G. Raw

Compiled by Lynn Raw 23 July 2001, last updated 21 September 2004

African Leaf Chameleons

(Note: the genus Rhampholeon has been recently divided into 3 subgenera while some species have been removed to a new genus Rieppeleon.)

Rhampholeon (Rhampholeon)

spectrum (Buchholz, 1874)

temporalis (Matschie, 1892)

Rhampholeon (Bicuspis)

marshalli Boulenger, 1906

gorongosae Broadley, 1971 

Rhampholeon (Rhinodigitum)

boulengeri Steindachner, 1911

chapmanorum Tilbury, 1992 (originally published as chapmani)

moyeri Menegon, Salvidio & Tilbury , 2002

nchisiensis (Loveridge, 1953)

platyceps platyceps GŸnther, 1893

platyceps carri (Loveridge, 1953)

spinosus (Matschie, 1892)

uluguruensis Tilbury & Emmrich, 1996


brachyurus (GŸnther, 1893)

brevicaudatus (Matschie, 1892)

kerstenii kerstenii (Peters, 1868)

kerstenii robecchii (Boulenger, 1892)

Note: Taxonomy is not static. As new discoveries are made, new species are added or sometimes a species is found to be the same as another previously described species and is then synonymised with that species. This happened with Brookesia betsileana Ahl which was later found to be identical to Brookesia nasus nasus Boulenger. The present list may already be out of date.

Please advise Lynn Raw of any errors, omissions or new developments,your advice is appreciated.

This page last modified on: Friday, October 29, 2004

© 2002-2005
ADCHAM logo illustrated by Randy Douglas. Web site design by Look Design, Inc.
Do not reproduce or redistibute any of content of this web site without express written permission from the authors.